First Chinese Presbyterian Church 100th Anniversary! PCUSA


We, as members of the First Chinese Presbyterian Church, the people of God, strive to nurture our spirituality, serve God faithfully, spread the Gospel and service the community that God's great love may be manifested.

Our Belief

We believe in God the Father Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth. We believe in Jesus Christ, the only Son of God. Jesus was crucified, suffering the depths of human pain and giving his life for the sins of the world. Jesus rose from the dead, breaking the power of sin and evil, delivering us from death to life eternal. We believe in the Holy Spirit. The Spirit justifies us by grace through faith, sets us free to accept ourselves and to love God and neighbor, and binds us together with all believers in the one body of Christ, the Church.

To learn more about Presbyterian history and beliefs, visit Presbyterian 101.

Our Governance 2019

The Session

The Session is responsible for the mission and government of FCPC. It consists of the Pastor who is the Moderator, Associate Pastor, and nine elected Elders.

Moderator: TE Laura Jervis
Clerk of Session: San Leong
Associate Clerk of Session: Jonathan Chui
David Chung, Quing Fai Chan, Hian K. Teng
Miao Li Lee, Milton Mui, Jimmy Shek, Ada Chan

Board of Deacons

The Board of Deacons supports and assists the Session to fulfill the mission of FCPC. In particular, it is responsible for ministering to those who are in need. It consists of nine elected deacons, with the Ministers and Missionary Assistants as ex-officios.

Chairman: Lap Lee
Vice-Chairperson: Christine Louie
Secretary: Donald Lee / Rosalynn Mok
General Duties: Susan Quan, Fanny Louie, Kit Lam, Jardine Lee, Sau Wah Chan
Nominating Committee: Lap Lee / Christine Louie (Alt)
3-Board Retreat: Rosalynn Mok / Donald Lee(Alt)
Anniversary Committee: Susan Quan / Sau Wah Chan
Summer Conference: Fanny Louie / Susan Quan (Alt)
Church Outing: Kit Lam / Jadine Lee (Alt)
Pastor Nominating Committee: Fanny Louie / Christine Louie

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the fiscal matters, property and physical maintenance of FCPC. It consists of nine elected trustees, with the Ministers and the Session Representative as ex-officios.

Chairman: Jonathan Chui
Vice Chairman: San Leong
Secretary: Jimmy Shek
Treasurer: Hian Khing Teng
Assistant: Yuk Ching Fong
Bookkeeper: Miao Li Lee
Auditor: Peter Tam
General Duties: David Chung, Niteung Lee

Elections of Representatives to Boards, Committees and Fellowships, and Assignments of Responsibilities 2019

Moderator: TE Laura Jervis
Clerk of Session: San Leong
Associate Clerk of Session: Jonathan Chui
Board of Deacons: Ada Chan
Board of Trustees: Jimmy Shek
JYF: Jimmy Shek
BASIC: Sharon Moi-Yap
Adult Fellowship: Jonathan Chui
Music Ministry: David Chung
Sunday School: Jimmy Shek
Women's Guild: Ada Chan
Senior Fellowship: H. K. Teng
Married Couples: Miao Li Lee
Community Affairs: Milton Mui
Foundation Fund: Jonathan Chui
Children Ministry: San Leong
Ushers: H.K.Teng*, Ada Chan
Evangelical: San Leong
Multi Media Ministry: Jimmy Shek
Christian Education: CRE Peng Leong
Summer Conference: David Chung
Church Outing: Quing Fai Chan*, David Chung
Anniversary Planning: Ada Chan*, David Chung, San Leong, Rev. Laura Jervis
Worship Committee (Chinese}: San Leong
Worship Committee (English): Jimmy Shek
3-Board Meeting: Jonathan Chui* David Chung
Church Facilities: David Chung
Church Records: San Leong
Scholarship Selection: Jonathan Chui
Publication / Website: San Leong*, Jimmy Shek
Renovation Committee: Milton Mui*, San Leong
Fund-Raising Committee: San Leong*, Quing Fai Chan
Chinese Consolidated Benevolence Association: David Chung
Christian Chinese Burial Association: Jimmy Cheung*, David Chung
Commissioner to Presbytery: San Leong
Nominating Committee: Quing Fai Chan*, Lap Lee, Jonathan Chui, Virgil Wong, William Tsang, Vicki Louie-Shek, Ted Huck
Pastor Nominating Committee: Jonathan Chui, [?]


For information of FCPC form of government, please go to: FCPC BY-LAWS

To learn more about Presbyterian form of government, please go to: Book of Order 2017-2019.